Books I Read in 2015 (What I’m Reading #8)

Last year, I decided to take on the Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge. My goal was to complete thirty-six books (three books a month). Here are the books I managed to complete.

2015 books read

  1. Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw
  2. The Bad Beginning (An Unfortunate Series of Events, #1) by Lemony Snicket
  3. Cup of Sake Beneath the Cherry Trees by Yoshida Kenkō
  4. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  5. Four Quartets by T. S. Eliot
  6. A Grief Observed by C. S. Lewis
  7. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K. Dick
  8. Utilitarianism by John Stuart Mill
  9. The Consolation of Philosophy by Boethius
  10. Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom
  11. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  12. Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
  13. Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy
  14. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
  15. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  16. Mocking Jay (The Hunger Games, #3) by Suzanne Collins
  17. Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2) by Suzanne Collins
  18. The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1) by Suzanne Collins
  19. Calamity (Reckoners, #3) by Brandon Sanderson
  20. Firefight (Reckoners, #2) by Brandon Sanderson
  21. Mitosis (Reckoners, #1.5) by Brandon Sanderson
  22. Steelheart (Reckoners, #1) by Brandon Sanderson
  23. The Hope of Elantris (Elantris, #1.5) by Brandon Sanderson
  24. Elantris (Elantris, #1) by Brandon Sanderson
  25. The Alloy of Law (Mistborn, #4) by Brandon Sanderson
  26. The Hero of Ages (Mistborn, #3) by Brandon Sanderson
  27. The Well of Ascension (Mistborn, #2) by Brandon Sanderson
  28. The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1) by Brandon Sanderson
  29. Words of Radiance (The Stormlight Archive, #2)by Brandon Sanderson
  30. The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive, #1)by Brandon Sanderson
  31. Wool by Hugh Howey
  32. On Love by Alain de Botton
  33. Animal Farm by George Orwell

I’m hoping to get around to reviewing many of the books listed here and as I do I will add hyperlinks to each review.  In the meantime, here are a few more statistics. 🙂

2015 in review

As you can see, there are thirty-three books listed, but I wouldn’t really count Brandon Sanderson’s The Hope of Elantris (Elantris, #1.5) or Mitosis (Reckoners, #1.5) as a book each, because they’re both just short stories. I could probably get away with counting them both as one book. So I’ll do that and say I completed thirty-two books last year.

While I’m on the subject of these two short stories, as a very brief review, I would not really recommend either of them to anyone, even a Brandon Sanderson fan.  Actually, if you’re an obsessive fan, and like the Reckoners series, I’d say go ahead and read Mitosis, just don’t expect anything. But take my word for it and don’t read The Hope of Elantris. Just don’t. There are very few things that I actually wish I could unread and this short story is one of them. 😦 More on it later perhaps.

Going back to the Reading Challenge, towards the end of 2015, I found myself torn between reading the books I wanted or needed to read (i.e. denser or longer books) and trying to reach my goal of thirty-six books. In the end, I decided that reaching my goal of reading thirty-six books wasn’t as important as reading books that I needed or wanted to read, but coming to that conclusion was difficult. So this year, I’ve decided to make things a bit easier for myself and make it my goal to read thirty books (2.5 books a month) instead. Hopefully, this will allow for a happy balance between both the amount and quality of books I read this year.

What are your reading goals for 2016?  If you have any, I’d love to hear about it. 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

