Let me, if I may, be ever…

This summer I put away my books and went out to enjoy the world. As much as I love books and reading, I never want to get to a point where they matter more than spending quality time with friends and loved ones or actually going out and living life. I’ve still been reading bits and pieces here and there, but nothing that I would call “real” reading. Starting this week, I’m hoping to slowly get back to regular reading.

Today I pulled out George MacDonald: An Anthology (Edited by C. S. Lewis) and came across this quote which I think is beautiful and profound. It’s gotten me thinking about contentment again and how it’s such a multifaceted word. And now I’m wanting to write a longer post about contentment, but it will have to wait till another time. 🙂

DSC_1054rs

Let me, if I may, be ever welcomed to my room in winter by a glowing hearth, in summer by a vase of flowers; if I may not, let me think how nice they would be, and bury myself in my work. I do not think that the road to contentment lies in despising what we have not got. Let us acknowledge all good, all delight that the world holds, and be content without it.Annals of a Quiet Neighborhood by George MacDonald

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Let me, if I may, be ever…”

  1. tomoko (@tokosmo) says :

    You must tell me all that has happened, and your thoughts and impressions of what you have seen. 🙂

    • Meg says :

      Tom, I will! Gladly! And you must do the same! I eagerly await your return and am looking forward to hearing all about your adventures. 🙂

  2. Angela says :

    George MacDonald! Another author I’ve promised myself to read comprehensively someday, but haven’t gotten to yet, other than reading “The Princess and the Goblin” ha. Love that quote.

Leave a Reply

