“Your book bill ought to be your biggest extravagance.”

I had some unexpected work last week and, as a result, had no time left to blog. I did, however, manage to squeeze in the time to make a large book order. I have to admit that I splurged a bit, but I’m happy to think C. S. Lewis would have probably approved. 😀  I love this quote because it succinctly states how I feel about about reading and purchasing books.

From a letter dated April 8, 1941 to Derek Brewer from C.S. Lewis regarding the books he should read to prepare for his time at Oxford, where Lewis was to be his tutor.

The great thing is to be always reading but not to get bored – treat it not like work, more as a vice! Your book bill ought to be your biggest extravagance.” (Collected Letters of C.S. Lewis, Volume 3, in the supplement, page 1540-1541)

Over the last year and a half, my book bill has been, by far, my biggest extravagance. And yet, aside from one book, I haven’t regretted a single purchase. What you can get from reading a good book can last you a lifetime and, I believe, it’s one of the best investments of time and money someone can make. 🙂

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

