“If he be Mr. Hyde… I shall be Mr. Seek.”

jekyll hyde3

Today I finished reading The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson. I’ve been fascinated by the basic premise and concept of this story for years, and was surprised to find that it wasn’t quite as detailed or black and white as I’d expected–there was plenty of grey. It’s left me with much to mull over.

A post (or posts) on this story will soon follow, but in the meantime I wanted to say: I would highly recommend that anyone interested in reading this story (but especially those who don’t really know the story concept, e.g., maybe the most you know is the phrase, “Jekyll and Hyde”; or perhaps you’re not exactly sure if it’s Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, or Count Dracula, or Frankenstein), just go and read it. Don’t read any commentary, synopsis, review–anything. Read the story first. Then go and read commentary to your heart’s content. You’ll probably need it too. 🙂

On the other hand, if you have little to no interest in reading it, perhaps some commentary would pique your interest. In that case, I would highly recommend that you go find something on the subject or stay tuned for my upcoming posts. 😉

Ps. Tom, I’m sorry. I reached the above conclusion only after finishing the whole story. I’m afraid I may have spoilt it a bit for you. 😦

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to ““If he be Mr. Hyde… I shall be Mr. Seek.””

  1. tomoko (@tokosmo) says :

    You have piqued my interest in this story. I don’t know if I’ll get around to reading it, but I’m looking forward to your commentary. How many hours did it take you to read the story/is it quite long?

    You’re quite a good writer, Meg. I’m enjoying your posts very much. 🙂

    • Meg says :

      Thanks, Tom. I don’t really have much confidence in my writing skills (aside from song writing), so it means a lot, especially coming from you. I’m so pleased that you’re enjoying my posts. 🙂

      Re. Jekyll and Hyde, was planning on touching on the length in my next post @ it. It really doesn’t take too much time to read as it’s a novella—longer than a short story shorter than a novel. I think it took me about 4 hrs. You could probably easily read it on a few train rides. 😉

  2. Angela says :

    I just read this one for the first time, glad to see your post on it! The character of Mr. Utterson keeps the story grounded and believable, while Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde bring in the fantastic. It kept me mulling for days.

    • Meg says :

      Nice. It’s a great classic that I think every adult should read. 🙂 Was there anything in particular that made you read it?
      Yeah, I was actually surprised, at first, to find that it was mainly told from Mr. Utterson’s perspective. Because the parts I had read, prior to reading the full story, that originally sparked my interest, were written in first-person narrative. But I think it works out best that way. 🙂

      • Angela says :

        Mary Shelley (Frankenstein) somehow inevitably led to this one, hah. I decided to read it, mainly because ‘Jekyll and Hyde’ are alluded to everywhere, and because I liked the Stevenson books that I had read so far. I also wanted to see if the author went into the medical reasons for split personality (which he didn’t). It’s more of a morality tale. 🙂

      • Meg says :

        Heh. Yeah, it figures. After I wrote this post, I found out there was an anthology of the three horror classics I mentioned with an introduction by Stephen King (written in 1978). So I bought a second hand copy online. I still haven’t read the other two, but will get around to reading them one of these days. 🙂
        It’s funny, I came at Jekyll and Hyde from the opposite angle. I thought the author would explore more of the morality side of it, but it was a lot more ambiguous than I’d expected.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. This Week’s Books #3 | Treading Paper - June 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

